jump to navigation

For Those Who Love Leather March 11, 2011

Posted by Dev in Musings.
Tags: , ,
trackback

I am definitely not a fashionista and I usually don’t pay any attention to Fashion Week events in Paris and Milan, but the Fall 2011 collection from Hermès caught my eye. It started with a picture in the Wall Street Journal where they were making fun of the leather pants and boots combo (“poonts”?) calling it “the least practical garment” of all the collections. Seriously, are there any clothes at any fashion week that are practical? Or affordable? I don’t think so. So, why not go all out and drive the leather fetishists wild with top-to-bottom leather: hats, jackets, skirts, gloves, pants, boots, and yes, even poonts. I thought the model with the creamy white poonts and a falcon was pretty hot. I also loved the leather trim on sweaters and jackets, pulling the whole look together. Here are a few pictures for your viewing pleasure. I also found a video of the show, which was held at Hermès Left Bank store in Paris. I read more than one description of the show that said designer Christopher Lemaire “sent models down the runway at a slow, almost meditative pace.” The background music, described as “woo woo” is a performed by a Chinese musician playing a Chinese harp, which we, apparently, would call a zither.

I love the quilting on the bill of the cap and the contrast of silk and leather. Notice the trim on the jacket and oh yes, the poonts!

Here’s a video of the show…

For those who want more, there’s a very nice slide show at the New York Times. You can zoom in on the pictures and really get up close and personal with all that luscious leather. Enjoy!

* * * * *

Meanwhile, over at the Louis Vuitton show there was lots of fetish-y clothing, with leather, fur, boots, see-through shear skirts revealing thigh high stockings, and more. Not really my taste but I can see how it would appeal to some. Ab tells me he wants one of the French chambermaid’s dresses. Something tells me this would cost more than his housekeeper dress from Amazon…

I love the feather duster!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

