jump to navigation

The Winter Doldrums February 27, 2011

Posted by Dev in Musings.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

It’s official. I am experiencing an advanced case of cabin fever accompanied by severe winter doldrums. It snowed on Friday and it is snowing again today. The world is white, the sky is white–the only color is an olive-green pine tree in the backyard and our blue station wagon in the driveway. I am sick of winter! I am sick of walking gingerly, not knowing if there are icy patches under the snow. I am sick of clearing snow off the car every time I go outside. I am sick of  wearing boots, heavy socks, hats, and gloves. I am sick of all of it!

My outdoor shower seems like a distant memory, as does my deck and my porch. Did I really tie Ab to a chair on the porch and tickle him with an ostrich feather? That seems like it was a few lifetimes past–or at least three chastity devices ago. LOL.

As I was surfing the web to find the picture I used above, I came up with a wide variety of cures for the winter doldrums. Some appeal, others not so much. In no particular order:

  • Bake some “Kick Winter’s Ass Lemon Bars.” These sound really good. I just sent the recipe to Ab.
  • Attend a film festival. That would work if we had a film festival occurring locally. Instead, we may go to the movies.
  • Take a bible study class. Uh, I don’t think so. Not my cup of tea.
  • Look at pictures of naked men. Um, yes, this is more in line with my way of thinking. Interestingly, I don’t see many suggestions for looking at pictures of naked women. What’s up with that? Guys don’t get cabin fever?
  • Buy a meat grinder for the Kitchen Aid mixer and grind some meat. ??? Whatever floats your boat, I suppose.
  • Have a party.
  • Dress up in silly costumes.
  • Turn the party into a costume contest.
  • Dance.
  • Hm, we never had guys like this in our hot tub...

  • Meditate.
  • Soak in the hot tub. That would work if we still had a hot tub….
  • Read a good book. Actually, I am doing that. The sixth book in Jordan Castillo Price’s PsyCop series just came out: GhosTV. I have been eagerly waiting for this ever since I buzzed through all the other books in the series last April. I am struggling between reading this book as fast as I can and trying to draw it out and make it last. That’s part of the reason I took a break to write this blog post.
  • Write a blog post. Check.
  • Email an old friend.
  • Call an old friend.
  • Clean the oven. Not for me but this is what Ab is doing!
  • Balance the checkbook. Pay bills. Seriously? This is supposed to cheer me up? LOL.
  • Get distracted from writing the blog post and read an article in Time on sex addiction.
  • Remind yourself that spring is only 22 days away…on the calendar, at least.

* * * * *

Okay, so now we know from the sex addiction article that men, on average, have three orgasms a week. Ha, that’s what they think! Time for a quick check in the orgasm glass since it’s practically the end of the month.

Last month (January) there was 93 cents: 2 quarters, 1 dime, 5 nickels and 8 pennies. This month the inventory is:

  • 1 quarter (an orgasm in the cage for Ab)
  • 4 nickels
  • 7 pennies

52 cents. Not quite as much activity as last month but then this is a shorter month–and we’re suffering from the winter doldrums. And there are still 36 hours before March officially arrives. Anything can happen in that amount of time, right? 🙂

* * * * *

Time for a glass of wine, I think, and more PsyCop reading. In the comments, please share your sure-fire cures for cabin fever. I’d like to know what works for all of you. Have at it!

Comments»

1. Atone - February 27, 2011

Kind of early for a glass of wine don’t you think? (or is that *another* glass of wine)

I was out in the garage yesterday trying to make a little space. It was pretty cold but bearable. I was back out there today firing up the torch and doing a little welding. Opened up the door to get a little fresh air in there and was pleasantly surprised with a nice warm sunny day. Well, only mid 50’s actually but boy did it feel nice in the sun. I am so ready for spring. And a lemon bar now that you put that in my head, thanks.

So, if you are so addicted to sex that you are searching out and reading articles on sex addiction where exactly does that leave you?

I hope you get out of your doldrums soon. Once we get February out of the way it should start to pick up fast.

-A

Dev - February 27, 2011

Reading this article, it’s pretty clear that we’re not addicted to sex, either one of us. We just have a good healthy sex life, which is what I would have told you prior to reading the article! Now I just have confirmatory evidence.

A glass of wine at noon on Sunday–I waited until the hands were straight up. As my father would say, “The sun is over the yardarm, somewhere in the world.” LOL.

I think part of the reason the weather is pissing me off today is that it was *supposed* to get into the 40s–instead, it looks the high today is going to be 23. Ugh.

I forgot to mention that we do have a trip to San Francisco planned for the end of March. *That* is something I am looking forward to!

D

2. Tallestrina - February 27, 2011

Dev,
Not long now! I use a daylight light, and I print out a table showing how the sunset will get later, very soon, from
http://aa.usno.navy.mil/data/docs/RS_OneYear.php
You have to input where you are for it to work!
Also, get a lottery ticket and hope you win enough so you can move to the southern hemisphere (I fanch New Zealand) every winter.

Dev - February 27, 2011

I was actually looking at my Google calendar for sunrises and sunsets and saw this:
3/10, sunrise 6:03 am
3/11, sunrise 6:01 am
3/12, sunrise 5:59 am
3/13, sunrise 6:59 am

Sometimes I really hate daylight savings time!

D

3. Harry Haversackers - February 27, 2011

I can appreciate what you’re saying, Dev. We’re the same here, except that the sky is blue and the sun is shining. However, the wind is blowing, so it’s still too cold to go outside and enjoy oneself.

We’re on the Canadian Prairies, so it’s a bit further north from you. As much as we want winter to end, we’ll have another month, at least, before it starts to thaw.

The upside of living here is that the sun shines a lot during the winter, which goes a little way toward elevating one’s mood, but still… it’s bloody cold.

We were fortunate enough to have a short vacation on Maui in January, which was incredible (first time), but it made coming back to the deep freeze we live in sooo difficult.

You’d think after living here for more than thirty years, we’d be over the cabin fever thing by now, but it never seems to quite go away. I guess we could join that bible study group…

Dev - February 27, 2011

We do have many days with blue skies, thank God, or I probably really would lose my mind. I think it was the 9.5″ of snow on Friday and another 3″ today that pushed me over the edge.

I have a SAD light which I haven’t used for a few weeks. It might be time to plug that back in again…

D

4. Wilson - February 28, 2011

Well, I was going to suggest that travel – say, a trip to Vancouver, Canada – is often a good cure for cabin fever, except I just read as how you’re visiting San Francisco soon, plus Vancouver just got its first snowfall of the winter, so it wouldn’t actually be an improvement.

Oh, well, maybe next year.

Dev - February 28, 2011

Someday I would like to get to Vancouver — it’s on my life list.

D

5. Sweet Dreams « the key is on my nipple ring - March 4, 2011

[…] mentioned in another post that I was reading GhosTV (another 5-star read in the PsyCop universe, BTW. Highly recommended). […]


Leave a Reply

