jump to navigation

Utilikilts—Yay or Nay? December 26, 2010

Posted by Dev in Musings, Opinions, Polls.
Tags: , ,
trackback

I never heard of Utilikilts until a few days ago where I saw a mention of them in a comment on a blog. Being the curious type, I googled the name and discovered the Utilikilts website. Apparently the inventor hails from Seattle and there is a retail store on 1st Avenue in that same city—but as a fashion statement, they haven’t made their way east. At least, not that I have ever seen!

Doing a bit more googling, I discovered that people seem to have very strong opinions about Utilikilts: they either love ’em or hate ’em. I couldn’t find much in the way of neutral comments or attitudes.

Chaste guys worry about unsightly bulges in their pants from their devices—although as I have said before, I’ve never been able to notice device-wearing man, even my own husband! But it seems to me that maybe a skirt, such as a kilt, could eliminate that problem.

I showed Ab the website and he was intrigued, although he wasn’t sure he’d be up to wearing a Utilikilt to work. Even so, he gets tired of chafing from pants and he likes having his legs bare. The minute it gets warm enough he switches to shorts and wears them for the entire season. He delays going back into jeans until the last possible moment. A kilt has a definite appeal for him.

His birthday is coming up in January and I kiddingly said, “I should order one for you.”

“Go ahead,” he replied.

This was before either of us had looked at the price: $215 for the classic style. Yikes! That’s a little steep for a potential gag gift. Fifty bucks? Sure, I’ll spend that in a minute. But two hundred? That’s starting to approach the price of a chastity device. Do I really want to spend that much on something that might never be worn?

So I decided to throw the question out to my readers with a little poll. You tell me: will Ab be a fashion trendsetter? Or should I be investigating something else—anything else!—for his birthday. Cast your vote in the poll and please leave comments letting me know what you really think. I look forward to the results.

Comments»

1. Jamie - December 26, 2010

I have at least three friends with utilikilts here in New England. Two of then work in the trades and wear their kilts while on the job. As far as I know, they’ve all been well received.

Thanks for your blog; I really enjoy it.

Jamie

devotedlvr - December 26, 2010

Thanks for your comment, Jamie, and thanks for the feedback about Utilikilts in the east. I am glad to know you enjoy the blog!

D

2. mikecb - December 26, 2010

Maybe you can google around and find a cheaper but equivalent option?

Honestly, given ab’s enjoyment of sexy underwear, he may have just a touch of cross-dressing kink in him. Nuthin’ wrong with that. Perhaps the kilt is something else fun to try.

Either way, if he hates the heat in the summer, this definitely seems like a way to keep cool!

devotedlvr - December 26, 2010

Hey Mike,

I *know* he has a little bit of a cross-dressing fetish. Trouble is, the thought of my husband in a garter belt and bra does *nothing* for me, which is why we’ve worked to find acceptable alternatives that turn us both on–silky thongs are a perfect example. Maybe a Utilikilt is more of the same. I just need to figure out if it’s a worthwhile investment.

I thought of looking on eBay to see if I could find a used one at a reasonable price.

D

3. Tom Allen - December 26, 2010

Yay!

I’ve been wanting to get one for a few years, but
a) $200+ is a lot of money to spend on something that’s not even formal wear, and
b) Mrs. Edge flatly stated that she would not be seen in public with me (which actually makes it somewhat more attractive…).

The more dressy kilts are even more expensive, but the one that you pictured is great for casual wear, especially during the New England summers.

BTW, I have no desire for cross-dressing; I simply like the idea of wearing them in the summer.

devotedlvr - December 26, 2010

Thanks for your comment, Tom. I’d be seen in public with him…trouble is, would he go out in public? It’s a lot of money to spend on something that he’s only going to wear around the house or working in the yard in the summer. But if he liked it and didn’t feel like a dork, then it might be a worthwhile investment. It sounds like they wear like iron and only improve with age.

D

4. Bob - December 26, 2010

I spend quite a bit of time working in the UK and Scotland. Absolutely loved it. Came home to the good old USA wearing a kilt. Now I own two and wear them on occation, especially during Scottish holidays/festivals/highland games. Unbelievably comfortable. Now I see the Utilikilt and hope they are accepted by all soon. I buy my kilts on eBay and save a ton of money.

devotedlvr - December 27, 2010

Hi Bob, thanks for your comment. Yes, kilts are extremely comfortable, having owned a few of my own over the years. Maybe the Utilikilt will become an ordinary sight on the streets of America…

D

5. lefty - December 26, 2010

Well, kilts are said to be worn commando-style by the Scots…altho I’ve never actually checked on that. It WOULD be interesting if he’d be going commando!

devotedlvr - December 27, 2010

Hi Lefty–hahahah, commando. Yes, that’s the rumor. Although when he has his device on, Ab has come to prefer having some sort of undies to provide support. I suspect the same would be true in a Utilikilt.

D

6. key4belle - December 26, 2010

Jnuts owns one, he has for several years. Many of our friends have them as well, but they are mostly worn in the convention (comicon style) settings. They are very well received, and I love his. Jnuts has never worn his with a device though, and does warn that kilt checks are the norm, and someone is going to get an eye full of metal 🙂

devotedlvr - December 27, 2010

At least they’d get an eyeful of good looking, sexy metal…LOL

D

7. nuts4belle - December 26, 2010

If you do get him one, follow the sizing guidelines carefully. Also, I could probably find you a gently used one cheaper. I paid $75 for mine. I don’t wear it often. In fact I forgot about it. Might have to break it back out.

devotedlvr - December 27, 2010

Hi Jnuts…if you have any connections for a bargain, let me know. I did price a few on eBay–they seem to be in the $100 range, with bidding still going on.

D

8. key4belle - December 27, 2010

Shoot me a PM on the forums with his waist size, I will keep an eye out in our “other circles”.
Belle

9. pateinduced - December 28, 2010

Pate, from Seattle, here. Utikilts have been around for quite some time, here. Definitely pricey for a canvas tent. And, yes, expectations are to be worn commando. They even have a pouch/ledge/whatever. They really aren’t odd looking, if the wearer does full fashion with wool socks and leather boots. Top can be the Mrs. torn stretch tank.

My Mrs. got me to try on a pa…… ah, umm , a bag at the store. Pretty hot, scratchy and extremely self conscious for someone not used to waving goods about. I prefer standard shorts for $1.50 to $5.00 at Goodwill.

devotedlvr - December 29, 2010

Thanks, Pate. I wonder if I could find a used Utilikilt at Goodwill. Now there’s an idea…

D

10. Anonymous - December 30, 2010

Well, two things.

First, a skirtish / kiltish thing won’t make a bulge seem less visible. If anything, the skirt aspect of it draws attention to any bulge that is there. I’ve worn a skirt and the first thing that popped to attention was my bulge. And not because I was turned on, it’s because of the way they are cut. Maybe these kilts are different.

Second, if Ab does have a bit of a cross-dressing kink, and it does nothing for you, that’s okay. Honestly, I used to have a bit of a cross-dressing kink. Then, one day, I looked in the mirror. I haven’t bothered since. The image of me as a woman is something just short of horrible, ugly, and plain NOT sexy.

However, what I do find appealing is the sensual element of lingerie and the feeling of silky smooth skin. So, I switched to different nylon-based (and yes, male) underwear, keep my legs trimmed (used to shave, but got sick of it). Now I get the sensual feeling I was looking for without it needing to be viewed as feminine in any way. So we have an agreement – she wears the lingerie and I enjoy it on her, not the other way around.

Frankly, these kilt things just seem too expensive.

devotedlvr - December 31, 2010

Hi Anon,

Thanks for your comment. The way you’ve described what is appealing: “the sensual element of lingerie…” is exactly how we’ve operationalized it. Ab thought he wanted to wear women’s undies but when we got down to it, he had the same reaction as you–this is not sexy. It took a little thinking, and experimenting, to figure out exactly what appealed. We eventually hit on silky, sexy, but definitely masculine undergarments. Works for us!

As for the Utilikilt, there is something about them that appeals to me (and Ab, too) but as you say, they are expensive. I’ve been watching eBay and have a friend who is looking out to see if she can find a previously loved one at a decent price. Wait and see what happens. I’m sure I’ll be reporting back!

11. Happy Birthday to Ab! « the key is on my nipple ring - January 17, 2011

[…] him a Red Stewart “comfy Sport Kilt.” If folks remember, I had been thinking about a Utilikilt. The poll for that was positive with 41% (n = 38/92) saying yes, I should get one. Trouble was, it […]

12. Cherub - May 3, 2011

I have a utilikilt and to be honest i love it. But since they went to a retailer format the are not worth the money anymore, however the are cheaper/more affordable options.

Stillwater kilts are good for what they are. and there are others as well.

if you want reviews from non kinkster kilt wearers go or google x-marks the scot. it’s a forum that is suported and has many full time kilt wearers in it. If you go traditional or semi-trad and if you get him a sporan no one will detect the chastity behind it.

I know this is an old post but the the thread is right up my alley so I’ve commented. if you would rather e-mail me with questions e-mail me or pm me on x-marks I’m Cherub there as well


Leave a Reply

