jump to navigation

Sunday Morning Housekeeping November 28, 2010

Posted by Dev in Musings.
Tags: ,
trackback

In honor of my 100th post and three month anniversary, I’ve done a little housekeeping and tidying up to the blog. I’ve added some widgets to the sidebar, including a link to Keyheld: Chastity Resources for Lovers, a search box, and stats for the blog.

I’ve also added a link for a new gallery I started, featuring a good looking men engaged in a variety of activities. I’ve had pictures forever in my Photobucket, but that’s not really an album that anyone can browse, so I thought I’d make some of my favorites a little bit more accessible for  like-minded folks. I can also include racier pictures than Photobucket allows. I don’t think I’ll go all the way to X-rated but this is definitely R or NC-17. Feel free to drop in and enjoy. I haven’t figured out a way for people to leave comments, but you can always send me an email letting me know what you appreciate and what you want to see more of.

As I move into the next phase of this blog and chastity, I am reaching out to you to ask what you like, don’t like, want more of and so on. Glancing over the past few months, I’ve noticed:

  • I tend to write lengthy blog posts, averaging in the neighborhood of 1000 words each. Is this too long? Should I break things up into shorter, easier-to-digest bites? Or do you like my long discourses on this, that and the other thing?
  • Types of posts tend to be my musings but I have included a few book reviews, reviews of other things (devices, underwear), one poll, and a few fun posts (greeting cards, pictures). Is there anything in particular that you like that you would like to see more of? Anything that was a total flop?
  • Overall layout: I am quite fond of the design I selected and would rather not change it but I know that for some people, the grey font on black background can be hard to read. Yay/nay on the layout and design? Any links you’d like on the sidebar?

I don’t have an exact metric for successful, but overall I believe this blog is a success. Quantitative measures include:

  • 105 posts
  • 660 comments
  • 13 subscribers
  • ~58,000 views
  • ~600 to 800 views/day

Qualitative feedback, usually via email, is all positive. I really appreciate comments and emails—it helps me to know the hard work is worth it.

Thanks everyone for your support. Please let me know what else I can do or what you would like to see. My goal is to make this a very useful resource for folks looking for information on chastity and living a chaste life, from a real-world couple perspective.

Dev

Comments»

1. Tom Allen - November 28, 2010

I’ve also added a link for a new gallery I started, featuring a good looking men engaged in a variety of activities.

I don’t see any of my own pics there. Y’all got something against 50+ year old geezers? I sense an age discrimination lawsuit in the works…

BTW, the only feedback I might offer is that a good mix helps to keep both readers and yourself interested. Blogging only about chastity (or really, any narrow topic) can get dull, and eventually, you’ll run out of things to say and will burn out.

2. Atone - November 28, 2010

I like the mix too, keeps it interesting. I like that it is a little bit of a wider view in to your life.

The site is a little dark and that used to bother me but once I subscribed and started getting it via email it is much easier to read, the email is a very easy to read black on light gray.

I like your long winded posts 🙂 it gives depth to the content. If it is not too interesting I can skip parts but that doesn’t happen too often.

Congratulations on 100 posts / days. That is quite an accomplishment. I don’t know much about blog statistics but I would say that the comments per post is the most impressive, probably the most rewarding for you also.

-A

3. david - November 28, 2010

Dev,

Your blog is a pleasure. Like Mozart….”to move one note would somehow seem to diminish it”…..

Seriously, a great blog, please continue as you have seen fit.

David

4. devotedlvr - November 28, 2010

Thanks for your comments, gentlemen. I appreciate the feedback. Also, the three of you are among my original commenters and also consistently comment–I want you to know how much I appreciate your support! It means a great deal to me.

Big hugs,

D

5. mikecb - November 29, 2010

Dev,

“what they said.” lol. I really enjoy your blog. Don’t mess with success!

mikecb

6. Shane - November 29, 2010

Dev,

When I read your posts, I’m usually shaking my head and saying “who IS this woman?” and “where did Ab FIND her?” You’re so free and at ease with your sexuality — the relationship you have with Ab, and with your whole family, really, is a bit of an inspiration for me.

I’m with Mike, don’t mess with success. 🙂

Shane

devotedlvr - December 1, 2010

Hahaha, he found me at a party…or should I say, I found him? He was sitting on a couch, forlorn and lonely and I swooped in. The rest, as they say, is history… 🙂

D

7. keyhldr - December 1, 2010

There’s nothing about your blog that I don’t LOVE!! I really enjoy the varied content – I never know what I’m going to find, and I really like that. As you know, I LOVE the pictures – your gallery on the chastity forum is the first one I check! 🙂 Keep up the great work, and congrats on your 100th blog post!! You’re an inspiring woman!

-Keyhldr

devotedlvr - December 1, 2010

Thanks, keyhldr! I appreciate your support and kind words. Hugs to you!

D


Leave a Reply

