jump to navigation

The Cost of Sex November 20, 2010

Posted by Dev in Musings.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Mikecb has a new blog and he had an interesting post the other day on the cost of chastity. He estimated the cost of chastity (based on buying devices) at $540/year or ~$10/week. I think his estimate was actually on the high side because he added a $2000 Neosteel belt to his calculations. Even so, his point is well taken: compared to motorcycles, RVs, ATVs, or golf clubs, chastity is a bargain.

It’s not just chastity, though. Sex itself can be pretty inexpensive. In fact, for years, the only money Ab and I spent on sex was the cost of my prescription for birth control pills (back in the day when I was taking OCPs). Any toys we played with were found objects such as spatulas, chocolate syrup, or whipped cream. The thought of going out and buying something never entered our heads. In fact, I am not sure we even knew there were things you could buy! This was in the pre-Internet days, remember. People didn’t have a world of information at their fingertips like we do now.

The first thing we ever bought—and it wasn’t even purchased as a sex toy—was a little mini-vibrator from Brookstone. It was advertised as a “personal vibrator” and you were supposed to use it on your neck (yeah, right!). They sold them at the cash register and for Ab it was a total impulse purchase.

We quickly discovered that the neck massaging was so-so but on my clit? Oh-la-la! This was when we were still in the “let’s figure out the best way to make Dev have an orgasm” phase of our lives and this little vibrator turned out to be a godsend. Unfortunately, we worked it a little harder than it was rated for and it only lasted a few months. Another trip to Brookstone, another vibrator—we did that for awhile until we realized that at $10 a pop, plus all the batteries—there had to be a cheaper and more environmentally friendly solution. That’s when the Wahl (which plugs into the wall…LOL) entered our lives.

Since then, we have bought a number of “real” or “authentic” sex toys. Even so, if you subtract the $950 we’ve spent on chastity devices, I’m not sure we’ve spent $1000 total. The njoy Pure Wand, one of my favorite things, seemed like a huge extravagance when we bought that for $100—but 24 ounces of surgical stainless steel—that thing will last forever. Ab can put it in my hand when they bury me, or maybe I’ll will it to my children. Factored over the years that we’ve owned it (and will own it), cost per use will probably get down to a penny or so. It’s definitely worth the money!

A million years ago, when I was young and promiscuous, I used to say that sex was the perfect college activity: it was a great way to pass the time, it was fun, and it was cheap. Even now, all these years later with my beloved husband at my side, those words still ring true. Maybe sex isn’t completely no-cost anymore but it is still very affordable, at least in the Devoted Lover household.

* * * * *

I just did some back of the envelope calculating. We are at 97 days since we began our chastity journey on August 16th. Although I haven’t kept strict count, my guess is that Ab has been out of the device for about 159 hours or approximately 6.5 days. That works out that he has been locked up 93% of the time—I’d certainly say we’re getting our money’s worth for our chastity device investment! Since we started, he’s had two orgasms, one ruined orgasm, and one spurt in his CB-6000s. However, I am feeling that a release and orgasm is imminent. 100 days is a nice round number, don’t you think?

Comments»

1. Atone - November 20, 2010

I wish I could say I haven’t spent that much on sex toys but over the year I have probably spent at least 3 or 4 grand, and that was before the chastity devices. I will say that most of that expense was well worth it and we still have many of those items. It was also a lot less than most of my other hobbies.

Now, you had to go doing calculations and all. I never thought about that before but I had to go try to add it up. Turns out I have been locked up 94% of the time since we got any device. 93% of the time if you go back to my last ‘uncontrolled’ orgasm. 96% of the time since we got my first jailbird. 99.7% of the time since I was locked after my last orgasm. My desire is to only be unlocked at most once a month for a quick clean and occasionally released for an orgasm (maybe every 3-4 months). This would be a 99.9% locked up time. Thanks for getting me to obsess about something new 🙂

-A

2. devotedlvr - November 20, 2010

Even 3 or 4 grand is a fraction of what a boat or a motorcycle would cost, right? And the other thing is, you don’t spend it all at once. Spread those expenses out over 20 years and it’s peanuts. Our chastity device spending spree of the last few months (along with various accessories) is the most we’ve ever spent. Now I am waiting on our latest “big” investment: a $6 Wartenberg pinwheel. Thanks to jnuts and Belle for telling me about that thing! LOL.

99.9% of the time? There’s an ambitious goal. 🙂 I am thinking the best we could do is 95%, as long as Ab wants his daily cleaning release. What we need to figure out is the optimal release/orgasm schedule. Still working on that.

D

3. Atone - November 20, 2010

That is actually a desire more than a goal. The desire is to be locked up all the time unless I am being allowed out for an orgasm. It just works out to be 99.9% of the time. 99.9% would mean being out of the device no more than 30 minutes a month. I am on pace for this over the last two months. I figure one removal a month for cleaning and inspection should easily be under 30 minutes, usually closer to 15. That will allow for a couple opportunities to change devices if allowed. I am having a modification made to my Pet Trap (change of profile to the end) and another custom mod to a jailbird fabricated. Once I get those I will want to change devices a couple of times to try things out. Then I intend to go really long term without removal, multiple months hopefully.

And yes that is a fraction of some of the other toys I have had – motorcycles, convertibles, Off-Road vehicles, Motor Homes, and that is just the vehicles. Never had a boat though.

-A

4. devotedlvr - November 20, 2010

As they say, a boat is a hole in the water that you pour money into. We inherited our boat so we didn’t have the cost to buy it, but we still poured plenty of money into it. The last summer in was in the water we figured out that cost per use was $500. That’s when we decided to retire it to dry dock storage for awhile.

D

5. SimonC - February 7, 2011

It drives me wild knowing he has only been allowed two orgasms in 97 days. Great job.

devotedlvr - February 7, 2011

Thank you, Simon. Welcome to the blog!

D


Leave a Reply

